Classroom Roster Management: How to Add or Remove Students

As a teacher, school admin, or district admin, you can add or remove students from a classroom roster directly from the Insight Dashboard.

If you have access to multiple schools, please select the school and teacher first.

TO ADD A STUDENT TO A CLASSROOM:

1) Click the classroom name from the Navigation Pane on the left-hand side of your screen. The Reports Pane will show Overview, Activity, Standards, Usage, and Roster tabs.

2) Click the Edit button  in the Summary Pane. You should now see the Settings, Engagement Restrictions, Roster, and Password Type tabs in the Reports Pane.

3) Click Roster to see a list of students currently in the classroom.

4) Click Select Action. You will see a drop-down menu allowing you to choose from two options: Add Existing Student or Add New Student.

5) To add a student who has never had a DreamBox account before, select Add New Student. This will create a blank line at the top of the roster, which you can fill in with the student's information. Fields with red text beneath them are required in order to create the account.

You can add multiple new students at a time by clicking Add More.

5a) If you receive an error message under the Student Number that the number must be unique in district, it indicates that the number you entered already exists in your school district. The Student Number is a student's unique identifier that their DreamBox process follows. If the student already exists in the district, follow the instructions on Step 6.

6) To add a student with an existing DreamBox account, select Add Existing Student. This will create a new drop-down menu titled Select Student. Click on that field and scroll through the options or type in the name of the student you are looking for.

6a) If your account has administrator permissions attached to it, selecting Add Existing Student will cause a Select School drop-down menu to appear. Select the school under which the student's account is located or select Unassigned Students if the account is currently not associated with a school or classroom.

7) Click Add to Roster . You may repeat this process to add additional students.

8) Click Save to save all changes.

9) Click Exit to return to classroom reports.

TO REMOVE A STUDENT FROM A CLASSROOM

1) Click the classroom name from the Navigation Pane on the left-hand side of your screen. The Reports Pane will show Overview, Activity, Standards, Usage, and Roster tabs.

2) Click the Edit button  in the Summary Pane. You should now see the Settings, Engagement Restrictions, Roster, and Password Type tabs in the Reports Pane.

3) Click Roster to see a list of students currently in the classroom.

4) Scroll to the rightmost column. Click the Trashcan icon  next to the student you wish to remove. The student will be removed from the classroom, but not deleted. You can remove multiple students at a time.

5) Click Save to save all changes.

6) Click Exit to return to classroom reports.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request